Test your knowledge about vegetarianism

Has is it ever happened to you that you’re talking to some kind of vegetarian and you didn’t have a clue what’s all about? You must heard that vegetarians don’t eat meat and they eat vegetables and fruit. But did you know that there are more then 5 different varieties of vegetarianism? What being vegetarian exactly is? Vegetarianism is the practice of abstaining from consumption of meat (red meat, poultry and seafood). It may also include abstention from by-products of animal slaughter, such as animal-derived rennet and gelatin. 

There are many types of vegetarianism. These are:

  • Ovo vegetarianism: includes eggs but not dairy products
  • Lacto vegetarianism: includes dairy products but no eggs
  • Ovo-lacto vegetarianism: includes animal/dairy products and honey
  • Veganism: exclude all animal meat and products, including milk, eggs and honey
  • Raw veganism: includes only fresh and uncooked fruits, vegetables, seeds and nuts. Fruits and vegetables can only be cooked up to a certain temperature.
  • Fruitarianism: allows only fruit, seeds and nuts.
  • Sattvic diet (also known as Yogic diet): may include dairy and honey but excludes anything from the onion family, red lentils, mushrooms, blue cheese, alcoholic drinks, black coffee and other stimulants.
  • Buddhist vegetarianism: doesn’t allow any animal products and vegetables such as: onion, garlic, scallions, leeks, chives and shallots.
  • Jain vegetarianism: allows dairy but excludes eggs, honey and root vegetables.
  • Macrobiotic diet: consist mostly of whole grains and beans.

There are also semi-vegetarian diets, that include fish, sea food and some type of meat, manly “white meat”. These diets are:

  • Pescetarianism: includes fish and other seafood.
  • Pollotarianism: allows chicken and sometimes other poultry.
  • Pollo-pescetarianism: includes poultry and fish.

Share this!

Subscribe to our RSS feed. Tweet this! StumbleUpon Reddit Digg This! Bookmark on Delicious Share on Facebook